U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Merry Christmas!
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > San Jose
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 10-17-2010, 12:37 AM

3 posts, read 6,187 times

Advertisements

I just started working as an engineer in a high-tech company in the valley. After a while I realized how expensive the housing here is and began to think about the future. I have a PhD and am paid OK (around 100k before tax, but of course tax will take 40% away from that). As an engineer for a stable company without much growth, bonuses and stock awards are not much, sometimes none. I am single and don't plan to marry soon so currently I just rent with roommates. Looking ahead I just think it's almost impossible for me to afford a decent house here unless I am willing to pay high mortgage rates and high property taxes as well, and I keep thinking how easier it would be if I choose to live in another place. During job hunting, I also had a job offer from Austin with similar pay, but I chose Silicon Valley simply because under this economy, I think living around so many high-tech companies would be an advantage if something happens to my company and I were laid off unexpectedly. Besides as I stated I am single and I rent so I don't actually spend much, for now. However, I don't think I can keep this way forever, so in the future I think I have several options: