U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > San Jose
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-13-2011, 02:51 AM

3 posts, read 4,886 times

Advertisements

Hi

I am a married professional with a wife and a 5 mth old baby.
I'll be relocating from Singapore which is in the south of Asia as I have accepted an offer to do auditing in San Jose.

I'll be earning around 72K per year pre tax(low but we have confirmed increment every yr of roughly 10%). This is supplemented as well from the rental of my house in my home country of roughly 24k. Moving costs are fully covered, including free accomodation and car for 1st month and interest free loan for car and 6.5k in cash.
I do not have a fixed location for work as I'll be travelling around SV depending on where my client is situated thus I feel staying near my main office at Almaden Boulevard would be the best choice. We work a minimum of 60hrs/week to 100hrs/week from where I came from so I don't think the working hours in SJ would scare us.

My wife would be a SAHM taking care of our kid. We do not spend alot, our ideal day is to take a stroll down shopping areas with our kid and maybe travel interstate once in a while. We are both chinese but with english as our first language. Do not necessary have to stay near other chinese, we just like to experience new culture.

My budget for accomodation is roughly 1.3k-1.6k for 2br. Had researched around and narrowed down my choice of accomodation to these 3 areas. Campbell, Willow Glen, Sunnyvale.