U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > San Jose
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-05-2013, 07:27 AM

308 posts, read 255,403 times

Advertisements

For those who live in San Jose already, is it a good place to live for you?

For people considering moving here, would you generally recommend people to come or to stay away?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-05-2013, 11:34 AM

6,868 posts, read 16,981,417 times
I'm a working musician. I rent a nicely appointed apartment in a safe neighborhood of south San Jose. I don't need to look for work, it looks for me; hardly a week goes by that I don't have to turn someone down because I'm just too busy. All the services I need are close and I love the company I work for. The only thing I'm missing is a healthy work-life balance; I'm constantly running into problems because of long hours and an unpredictable schedule, but I need all of the income I get to make sure I save up for retirement and that first home purchase. That said, I don't mind the challenges. The hard part was getting to the point where I am now. Now that I have the experience and have established myself in the Silicon Valley, I know that if I lose my job tomorrow, I can pretty much just go door-to-door on North First Street with my resume and I'll find something within a week.

Old 04-05-2013, 12:24 PM

262 posts, read 430,074 times