U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California > San Jose
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 08-06-2008, 11:07 AM

7 posts, read 17,939 times

Advertisements

Hello everyone---

My husband works in IT at a company in Pittsburgh, PA, and they recently bought another location in Dos Palos, CA. He can continue his job where he is at (or any of their other locations, the newest being Dos Palos). We have always entertained the idea of moving to CA. We don't have a clue what the Dos Palos area is like. We also have a 1 year old son. I work as a nurse, so I assume I could get some kind of job out there. Our house is currently for sale (we are going to move regardless, whether it's around here or far away).

Any opinions/info would be GREATLY appreciated!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-06-2008, 11:25 AM

3,582 posts, read 11,934,707 times
You're kidding, right? Dos Palos is a very small and quiet farming town near Los Banos. It's been a couple of years since I drove through it, but I didn't see any companies or industry there - just a couple of stores, a gas station and a motel across the street from the cemetery.

Los Banos is the biggest town in the area and there is not much there to recommend it. This area is in the flat San Joaquin Valley and it's all agriculture where ever you look.

Old 08-06-2008, 12:10 PM

No, not kidding! Most of his company's locations are outside of a larger city. Is there anywhere to live within a reasonable commute of Dos Palos?

Old 08-06-2008, 02:05 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by PAgirl2020 View Post