U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Florida > Sarasota - Bradenton - Venice area
 [Register]
Sarasota - Bradenton - Venice area Manatee and Sarasota Counties
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 12-28-2009, 03:53 AM

41 posts, read 53,321 times

Advertisements

I've been lurking for about 6 months, since I decided to move to Florida to retire. I am an ICU nurse and will retire in spring, 2011, God willing.....
Right now I live in Albuquerque.

I hope to move to Venice, so thank you to everyone who posts here--very informative. And I'm crossing my fingers that ZZB gets to relocate soon.
Only a few general questions--I don't plan to buy a house, so no issues with all of that. Looking at Woodmere Apts in Venice.

As a backup plan, also looking at Punta Gorda and the Lakes at Toscana Apts.
Any thoughts on the 2 areas or advice? I'm happily single, a young 60, but not into the singles scene. Looking to meet new friends and enjoy beautiful sunsets and the beaches. I don't plan to work ever again (40 years as a nurse, mostly ICU, is enough) but will need to do something-maybe newcomers' club, etc. Any thoughts on local hospitals-for care-and HMO's. I get my medical plan through the federal government and will be looking at HMO's--Humana and United are a few of my choices. Experiences with some of these? Best cable? I saw a thread of Verizon FIOS that was favorable. Right now I have Direct TV and internet though Comcast.

And off topic--anyone have a Kindle? Looking at that as my next gadget--I love to read and it seems like a great idea.....

And I hope I can join your get-togethers when I move....