Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Georgia > Savannah area
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 11-02-2007, 10:33 PM

8 posts, read 26,635 times

Advertisements

Wow, all the threads about Savannah have really had my head spinning. Some love it, some hate it. But I'd love to hear about those of you that do live there and more besides the crime rate, hot summers, and tight job market. I may have an offer (in negotiation) and am not sure about making such a move. Its to work at SCAD...

I'm an artist, married, no kids and currently live in the Bay Area of CA. We love it here, but it's fast fast fast and very expensive. Our property taxes are ridiculous and we feel we are always on high speed to keep things going.

We love historical places, architecture, geographical beauty, places to hike and be outdoors... is Savannah pretty by the water on the islands? Are there great sunrises and sunsets and crickets in the night? Thunderstorms? I've never lived in the South (Ok, Florida for one year, hated it - in 1975-76).

I don't want to feel like culture is something only in yogurt and that I don't have to go to NYC to shop. We like fresh organic food, is there an awareness there for health and alternative medicine. What is the western medical establishments like? For someone with chronic health problems, could they get good medical care in Savannah or have to go to a bigger city?

I've heard the people are very friendly... so is it a neighborly place? People aren't prone to keeping to themselves, but are willing to meet their neighbor and be open?