U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-04-2011, 09:40 PM

2,756 posts, read 5,258,915 times

Advertisements

I just wanted to get some opinions on an amazing factoid I learned the other day, and see if you guys are as outraged and baffled by it as I am.

A guy who I'm training at the gym (I'm a personal fitness trainer) works for the USGS here in Austin. He has his Master's degree in Geochemistry from Rice University and has been working in the field for about 12 years. He has been on five of the seven continents plying his trade and serving as a consultant to various energy exploration & drilling comapnies.
He told me this: The general public and consumer has been lied to for many years about the value of diamonds. They are not really a precious stone, and in fact are very, very common. After all, they simply come from pressurized carbon, which is one of the most prevalent substances on the planet. Diamonds, he said, turn-up all the time when they drill for CBM (coal bed methane, which sits on top of the coal beds) as well as oil. As far as their value, he said, diamonds are actually far, far, cheaper to process than other "precious" stones like rubies, sapphires, emeralds, and topaz. He went on to say that in reality diamonds should be priced along the lines of turquoise.
We have all been duped for many decades. Energy exploration companies are paid by diamond wholesalers to keep their mouths shut about what they find, and then are also subsidized for their drilling costs by these diamond buyers.
What say you?