U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-01-2014, 08:16 PM

1,388 posts, read 1,271,484 times

Advertisements

There's a slight chance I'll be teaching a programming class at a local high school next year, and I believe the school doesn't already have such a class.

My background is math, and though I did some programming in my undergraduate classes, it's been quite a while. Matlab is the only language I know particularly well today. I'll have to immerse myself in the coding over the summer, which could be fun.

So, which language is the one to learn?
Quick reply to this message

Old 02-02-2014, 08:28 AM

15,194 posts, read 17,689,444 times
I would say it's one of two - PHP or C++. PHP really shouldn't be learned without a corresponding HTML/CSS/JS class, though.

Our son took "computer programming" at his charter school last year. They taught Python. I wouldn't have chosen that language, but that's what they taught. I know Ruby on Rails is also getting kind of popular, but I know nothing about it, or what applications it has in the real world.

Java wouldn't be bad. With the explosion of smartphones & tablets, that might be the most practical language for a current HS student to learn, and it'll give them a foundation if they ever want to learn C/C++. Yeah, I take back what I said above - I'd go with Java.

Old 02-02-2014, 08:59 AM

37,072 posts, read 38,285,292 times