U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 09-01-2017, 02:41 AM
Yac
 
5,445 posts, read 5,668,018 times

Advertisements

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peregrine View Post
Doom won't run on your rig. Battlefield 1 will not run on your rig. Overwatch? No. Destiny 2? No.
Hmm, are you sure ? because last time I checked, I completed the latest doom twice (very fun game, btw) and have something like 60 hours in bf1 Can't remember the exact settings I used for Doom, but i play Bf1 in HD and on low/med and most of the time have a smooth 30+ fps (with some occasional crunches).
__________________
Forum Rules
City-Data.com homepage
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 09-01-2017, 03:09 AM
 
10 posts, read 1,522 times
Reputation: 18
Phone: iPhone 5 since September 2016
Computer: Macbook Air since April 2015

I think I'll use them until one of us dies.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-04-2017, 04:05 PM
 
Location: Sacramento
12,424 posts, read 13,041,017 times
Reputation: 10832
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peregrine View Post
Doom won't run on your rig. Battlefield 1 will not run on your rig. Overwatch? No. Destiny 2? No.
Overwatch will run on an abacus. Especially if OCed, Doom should run. Great is relative. It's probably playable at 1080p but I doubt it's getting 60 FPS. Probably need to downscale. I wouldn't call it great but probably playable.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-04-2017, 04:30 PM
 
Location: NYC
948 posts, read 601,982 times
Reputation: 1949
Phone 10 months
Laptop 4 months
Tablet 2 years
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-04-2017, 08:13 PM
 
Location: Sierra Nevada Land, CA
6,659 posts, read 7,013,774 times
Reputation: 7346
Landline? Dead for the last five years. Cost savings $3000 to date. Desktop four years old, cost $600 as a custom build from HP. iPhones each a year old. 6s. We usually keep them for two years so, it would appear that not having a landline pretty much pays for the cost of our smartphones.

And I realized that those cheap VIOP plans are not really landlines. Landlines work when the power goes out. Copper is your friend when your computer is dead!

Last edited by Mr5150; 09-04-2017 at 08:22 PM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-07-2017, 08:05 AM
 
Location: Small town Tennessee
16,284 posts, read 11,184,306 times
Reputation: 17330
I got an iPhone 6 Plus shortly after it came out. That unit died, but was under warranty. I've had the second 6 Plus close to a year. I will be replacing it with the iPhone 8 ASAP.

I built an I7-3770K system back in 2013 with 32GB of RAM and an SSD. Filled that SSD up and got a Samsung 850 Pro SSD and a storage drive back in the spring. I have a GTX 960 I might upgrade, but otherwise, am not planning on replacing the system.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-07-2017, 08:24 AM
 
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
9,468 posts, read 11,360,516 times
Reputation: 5793
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yac View Post
Hmm, are you sure ? because last time I checked, I completed the latest doom twice (very fun game, btw) and have something like 60 hours in bf1 Can't remember the exact settings I used for Doom, but i play Bf1 in HD and on low/med and most of the time have a smooth 30+ fps (with some occasional crunches).
Wow. That's pretty mind blowing. On a 660?

@Malloric: Will run on abacus?!?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-08-2017, 03:02 AM
Yac
 
5,445 posts, read 5,668,018 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peregrine View Post
Wow. That's pretty mind blowing. On a 660?

@Malloric: Will run on abacus?!?
Yes,a 660. Specifically a MSI "twin frozr gaming" gtx 660 model.
It's commonly listed as the minimum required graphics card and.. well, it works. I'm not one of those that need 4k resolution or absolutely every detail, as long as the game plays well and looks ok, I'm good.
Admittedly I haven't played every game out there, but out of those that I played, every single one worked - most in 1080p and low/mid details, some (like The Division or Dragon Age Inquisition, for some reason) forced me to go down to 720p to achieve a fluent 30+ fps gameplay, but at the same time, Witcher 3 ran great in 1080p on medium details.
__________________
Forum Rules
City-Data.com homepage
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-10-2017, 09:23 PM
 
Location: Sacramento
12,424 posts, read 13,041,017 times
Reputation: 10832
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peregrine View Post
Wow. That's pretty mind blowing. On a 660?

@Malloric: Will run on abacus?!?
It really shouldn't be. The 600/700/900 cards offered pathetically little increase in performance (but great increases in terms of energy efficiency and hence heat and noise). Since Nvidia really had no competition at the time, they didn't have to make the cards faster and barely did. There's not an astounding difference between a 660 and 960 except at very high/ultra settings on the more demanding games where the 660's bandwidth just gets eaten alive by high texture rates making it unplayable. Outside that, there's about a 20-30% difference in FPS. So if it runs at 60 average FPS on a 960, probably it'll run in the low to mid 40s FPS on a 660. That's still playable to most people.

Modern games also all scale as most have cross-functionality and need to run not only on a PS4 Pro (which has about half the GPU performance of a 1070) but also a regular PS4 (around the GPU performance of GTX 260).

And yes, Overwatch basically runs on abacus hardware. A 660 can chug along at around 60 FPS on ultra settings at 1080p and is playable at 1440p on ultra. Or to put it another way, nearly a quarter of the people playing Overwatch don't even have a graphics card at all. I'm sure they're not playing on 1080p at ultra settings but they're still playing. AKA it will run on an abacus.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-11-2017, 03:58 AM
Yac
 
5,445 posts, read 5,668,018 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malloric View Post
It really shouldn't be. The 600/700/900 cards offered pathetically little increase in performance (but great increases in terms of energy efficiency and hence heat and noise). Since Nvidia really had no competition at the time, they didn't have to make the cards faster and barely did. There's not an astounding difference between a 660 and 960 except at very high/ultra settings on the more demanding games where the 660's bandwidth just gets eaten alive by high texture rates making it unplayable. Outside that, there's about a 20-30% difference in FPS. So if it runs at 60 average FPS on a 960, probably it'll run in the low to mid 40s FPS on a 660. That's still playable to most people.

Modern games also all scale as most have cross-functionality and need to run not only on a PS4 Pro (which has about half the GPU performance of a 1070) but also a regular PS4 (around the GPU performance of GTX 260).

And yes, Overwatch basically runs on abacus hardware. A 660 can chug along at around 60 FPS on ultra settings at 1080p and is playable at 1440p on ultra. Or to put it another way, nearly a quarter of the people playing Overwatch don't even have a graphics card at all. I'm sure they're not playing on 1080p at ultra settings but they're still playing. AKA it will run on an abacus.
I remember back in the day when I got my first pc, computers were almost completely obsolete sometimes only months later (voodoo 1, 2, 3 etc), in the context of gaming.
But since ps3/xbox360 and crossplatform games being so abundant, this has slowed down significantly, and only picked up recently with 4k resolutions and 3d gaming. The consoles, which many PC gamers hates, actually stabilized the market. And now you can, like me, have an "ancient" computer and enjoy the latest games.

And I have to agree, the heat/noise level is amazing in this card, it's another reason why I got it - I had a gtx 580 before, the "most powerful single core graphics card" for a while, cost me an arm and a leg when it was new.. and while it had the performance, it was SO LOUD it wasn't even funny, and generated so much heat (the card worked in temperatures up to 100 degrees celcius..) it would warm up the room significantly Another thing was the power consumption - I now spent 15 or so $ less monthly on power
__________________
Forum Rules
City-Data.com homepage
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply

Quick Reply
Message:


Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology

All times are GMT -6.

2005-2017, Advameg, Inc.

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 - Top