U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-25-2015, 04:32 AM

5,818 posts, read 4,869,448 times

Advertisements

It's about 2 years out yet but I've been anticipating this eclipse since about 2011 now. I figured I'd throw out a thread and bump it from time to time as we get closer.

Everyone in the United States has an opportunity to drive not terribly far to view this eclipse. Myself in eastern South Dakota I plan to drive anywhere along the path the skies will be clear.. from Casper WY to Jefferson City, MO.

Total Solar Eclipse 2017 - Path Through the United States

25 facts you should know about the August 21, 2017, total solar eclipse - Astronomy Magazine - Interactive Star Charts, Planets, Meteors, Comets, Telescopes

There also happens to be another total solar eclipse in 2024... two in 7 years which is pretty remarkable.
Attached Thumbnails
Total Solar Eclipse of August 2017-greatamericaneclipse_2560x1600_1-custom-.jpg  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-30-2017, 03:18 PM

9,340 posts, read 9,900,047 times
Oregon eclipse weather report:

The expectation is for 2 million people to show up from Washington and California for the eclipse. That's almost half the population of the state of Oregon. Madras alone is expecting 200,000 people, in a town of 20,000.