U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 06-23-2015, 10:31 AM

1,380 posts, read 902,312 times

Advertisements

I'm a chemistry student in an Italian university, I'm in my 3rd year. Right now I'm at the beginning of the summer exam session, and I've suddenly noticed that a lot of our books are the translation of books written in the US or in the UK. But I have also noticed that rarely we follow exactly those books, because often our professors add something or they tell us that we can jump some chapters.
So that my head likes to follow strange though-paths, I started to wonder: how the same subjects are studied in other countries? Are they the same, or some parts of chemistry are given a different importance according to your university/country?

I would start writing the subjects I study here:

I° year: total credits 58

-General and Inorganic Chemistry with lab (12 credits)
-Math I (10 credits) (functions, derivatives, integrals...)
-Physics (10 credits) (Kinematics and electromagnetism)
-English (2 credits)
-Math II (6 credits) (linear algebra, approximation methods)
-Physical Chemistry I (8 credits) (thermodynamics)
-Organic Chemistry I (10 credits) (classes of organic compounds, main classes of reactions)

II° year: total credits 64

-Analytical Chemistry with lab (12 credits) (titrations, some instrumental methods)
-Physical Chemistry II (8 credits) (atomic and molecular quantum theories, some spectroscopies)
-Physical Chemistry III (6 credits) (inter-molecular interactions, kinetic, surface interactions)