U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Washington > Seattle area
 [Register]
Seattle area Seattle and King County Suburbs
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 03-29-2011, 01:39 PM

6 posts, read 14,044 times

Advertisements

I am moving soon to seattle suburb and just learned that i had to have a certification in education to be able to teach as a substite. here in kansas they require 62 credits hours, and a 2 days training and you're good to go. I have a bachelor in business admnistration with no experience. and the only thing beside raising my children (:-) which a full time job)is working as my kids scholl either as sub or just helping around the school when ever I could.
any suggestions will be appreciate it.
Quick reply to this message

Old 03-29-2011, 02:07 PM

4,248 posts, read 5,273,364 times
Yes, you need a teaching certificate.

Since you're ESL, you might want to look into teaching or aiding ESL classes and programs for recent immigrants.

Old 03-31-2011, 09:19 PM

1,603 posts, read 1,479,468 times
By state law, YES. However you can get a teaching assistant job without a state teachers certificate. I'm not sure but I think teacher certification is require by all of the states in this country.

Old 04-02-2011, 10:12 AM

5,012 posts, read 6,562,624 times