U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Washington > Seattle area
 [Register]
Seattle area Seattle and King County Suburbs
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-10-2009, 03:23 PM

3,350 posts, read 5,952,969 times

Advertisements

For those who don't already know, my wife and I are planning a move to Seattle in the spring. I'm a copy editor, and my job search has turned up nothing so far, so we're prepared to move without jobs if we have to and hope that being out there makes us more marketable.

In the meantime, I'm thinking about placing some cold calls -- or perhaps cold e-mails -- to some Seattle-area publishers that would be likely to have editors on staff.

I know about the Times, the P-I, the Stranger, and Seattle Weekly. What other publications are there in the Seattle area? Are there any book publishers? I've done some Googling, and the info I come up with doesn't seem terribly reliable -- for example, some of the publications I've looked up don't appear to be in business anymore, or the publisher actually turns out to be just a printing house that would have little need of an editor.

Oh, while I have you all on the line, what can anyone tell me about Seattle Pacific University? I see they have an opening for a managing editor, but I get the impression that it's also an evangelical school. That would be problematic if they expected me to sign a statement of faith or something like that. I'd enjoy the work, but I couldn't fake being something I'm not.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-15-2009, 08:21 AM

9,627 posts, read 23,823,776 times