U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Shopping and Consumer Products
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-03-2014, 03:27 PM

167 posts, read 320,695 times

Advertisements

I'm a recent college graduate who relocated to a different state for work. My current salary is in the mid 30s and I live in an expensive state.

A lot of my income is spent of rent and groceries. I'm a single female who loves to cook and I was wondering if it's worth to get a Costco membership?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-03-2014, 03:39 PM

6,120 posts, read 5,527,312 times
I'm single and never thought it was worth it.

Old 09-03-2014, 03:41 PM

6,704 posts, read 18,969,728 times
You may pay a few dollars for the membership card and save on some purchases but (a big BUT) only if the purchases are in BULK pkgs or items that will sit a long time before being used up.

A freezer full of nice expensive steaks is Nice but how long would it take for one person to replenish the supply w/o asking to feed many others.

I'M single now (retired) and have a habit of buying some quantity items that sit for a long time either in the fridge/freezer or filling up shelf space....better to have the money in the bank for a worth while purchase and need.

Old 09-03-2014, 03:44 PM

64 posts, read 74,080 times