U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Shopping and Consumer Products
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 10-16-2015, 03:43 PM
Status: "Absolute power corrupts absolutely." (set 14 hours ago)

15,506 posts, read 8,981,603 times

Advertisements

When I met my wife 18 months ago, she introduced me to this Groupon/Living Social/nCrowd scene, which were coupon sites I've never used before. Although I find these online deals to be mostly useless, a few of the deals have appealed to me, and I purchased five specials, four of which I have been satisfied with, and the last one was mediocre. My wife buys a lot more than I do, however. She is really a fan of these things, but I have noticed that these deals are quite hit and miss, more so than most shopping experiences.

She buys mostly restaurant and entertainment deals with the Groupons, and we have gotten really bad deals with a few: the food was crap, they didn't honor the coupon as they promised (and we always read the fine print carefully), and she had to get a refund after we tried to use one of them when we didn't get anything we paid for. The latest stunt involved a coupon she purchased recently with nCrowd. They went out of business (for the second time) and became Boom Street, and when she went to the restaurant which she bought the coupon at, they wouldn't take it because nCrowd wasn't paying them for the coupons! Now she has to attempt to get her money back from a defunct company