U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Sports > Soccer
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-27-2018, 10:25 AM

639 posts, read 291,954 times

Advertisements

Hi dudes,

Forgive me, I usually watch World Cups but the thing is that I am not a football expert in any way. Just I have wondered so many times why USA never goes to semifinals and finals in World Cups. So, as far as I know, USA is a great country in several sports, why you are not so good in football as well? Sorry if I offend someone or I am asking trivial things, I am not from the USA but that is a question I've had so many times...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-27-2018, 10:28 AM

1,586 posts, read 1,948,644 times
Because we suck. Bottom line. We're just not that good at soccer. Our national interests run more towards football, baseball, NASCAR, and other stuff that you can take bathroom breaks, beer breaks, food brakes, and (most importantly) commercial breaks for.

Old 06-27-2018, 02:01 PM

7,548 posts, read 16,381,882 times
Because at their very best the US are a team that can battle. On their norm, theyre just terrible.

Old 06-27-2018, 02:12 PM

1,577 posts, read 981,082 times
My take: America's best athletes are dispersed over a wide(r) array of sports.. in countries like Brazil & Italy, etc.. soccer is typically getting a concentration of their best athletes.

Brazilian athletes aren't choosing between football, basketball, hockey, baseball, & soccer. They're probably choosing between soccer or soccer..

Old 06-27-2018, 05:40 PM

685 posts, read 980,377 times
Quote: