U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Missouri > St. Louis
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 01-09-2011, 03:09 AM

1 posts, read 744 times
Default Considering buying a home on Ohio in Gravois Park. Any residents care to chime in?

Hi.

I'm a native south city resident. I grew up in the Southampton area, and have lived in various apartments around town, namely in Dutchtown, Holly Hills, and the Gate District. My husband and I are strongly considering buying a charming little home in the Gravois Park neighborhood. It's on a stretch of Ohio between Chippewa and Winnebago.

I'm not naive about city living, but even life-long city residents get a twinge of apprehension about Gravois Park. I'm also aware that St. Louis tends to be street-to-street. I've noticed that there seems to be quite a few rehabbed homes on that stretch.

Any nearby residents familiar with that stretch of Ohio have any input? We're aware that the area is a little "rough around the edges," but we're in for the long haul and feel pretty strongly about being part of the urban revitalization going on in the city.

Thanks!
Quick reply to this message

Old 01-09-2011, 08:10 AM

594 posts, read 607,279 times
^Since you are a south city native and are going in with your eyes wide open IMHO you and your spouse sound exactly like the kind of people Gravois Park need to turn the neighborhood around. Keep talking up South City and bring some friends. Good on ya.

Old 01-09-2011, 02:27 PM

1,561 posts, read 2,089,264 times
^
Amen

Old 01-10-2011, 08:16 AM