U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Missouri > St. Louis
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-28-2007, 11:50 AM

67 posts, read 162,537 times

Advertisements

Hi, I'll be coming to visit SL for a day, maybe a day and a half, in mid-September. I'm looking to get some insight into what I should see/do during that time to get a feel of the city as someone who might choose to live there in the not-too-distant future.

Considerations:
  • I do software for a living
  • I'm not a suburban type, when I'm near a city I like to live right down in it where I can walk to most things
  • Walking: I do a lot of it, safety is important but I'm not (too) paranoid either. For example there was nowhere in Seattle I wouldn't walk. Boston in the 1980s was a different story.
  • I'm an old-house nut, and would like to see what kind of historic houses/buildings/neighborhoods SL has.
  • Any new downtown gentrification to see - something like Omaha's Marketplace, Seattle's Pioneer Square, Boston's waterfront?
  • With limited time, best not to get stuck in traffic jams. Any highways to avoid and times of day to avoid them?
  • Ideals for a decent but reasonably cheap hotel/motel to stay in in the city, preferably (but not necessarily) walking distance to the nice bits of the city?

Anything else I should think about? I know I can't do the city justice in a day and a half, but that's all the time I'll have. Thanks in advance. -Eric
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-28-2007, 02:28 PM

1,816 posts, read 5,076,161 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Infidel View Post