U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Missouri > St. Louis
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-22-2007, 08:30 AM

7 posts, read 18,209 times

Advertisements

I am an incoming medical student at SLU this fall. I am currently in the process of searching for a place to live, but I am not really familiar with the various neighborhoods.

I have heard that the Central West End, LaFayette Square, and Soulard are the most popular neighborhoods for the medical students. What are the pros and cons of these neighborhoods? Which is the safest, relatively speaking? Are there any boundries in these neighborhoods that you wouldn't cross over (e.g. I'm sure there is probably a north boundry of the CWE that wouldn't be overly safe to overstep)? Which neighborhoods have the best nightlife and restaurants?

Any help you can provide would be greatly appreciated.

Unless you don't feel comfortable helping out a Cubs fan...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-22-2007, 01:14 PM

6 posts, read 29,445 times
Hello there!

Well, I think each of these neighborhoods would be good for a young student to live in...they each have a lot of good restaurants/bars and fun things to do! There is a different vibe to each area, though. Soulard and Laf. Square are two of the historic neighborhoods in the city. Soulard is where the city's Mardi Gras celebration takes place each year, so that may be a plus (or a minus) for you? It has a French quarter, blues music kind of feel to it, with tons of great restaurants and bars, lots to do at night, and a nice dog park too!