U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Tablets
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 12-31-2013, 12:17 AM

1,471 posts, read 2,390,886 times

Advertisements

Edit: could a mod please move this to the Tablets subforum?
[Done... Moderator]

I bought a 128 GB Surface Pro 2 last week to replace my Gen 1 iPad that I've had for 3 years. so far, I've been extremely impressed with its usefulness and design.

I am an architect, so I was very specific in what I needed in a tablet. The game changer for me was the Surface's Wacom digitizer recognition and ability to detect different levels of pen pressure on the screen when taking notes or doing sketches. Very few tablets have this capability, and the Surface Pro is the only full-PC tablet with Wacom recognition. With the Surface Pro being a full PC, I was able to load my old Adobe CS3 suite; using Photoshop and the Surface's included stylus gives me a more portable form factor to do design work on the fly or take my work home with me without hauling my work laptop home. I have also loaded Sketchup and the Surface's Intel i5 processor was able to handle spinning around an 80 mb building model with no problems.