U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Florida > Tampa Bay
 [Register]
Tampa Bay Tampa - St. Petersburg - Clearwater
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 04-27-2011, 01:46 PM

4 posts, read 3,915 times

Advertisements

Hello All,

I am a 27 year-old professional about to move down to Tampa. I have looked around quite a bit and really liked the Ybor City area. I will be working from home quite a bit, so the close proximity to coffee shops, restaurants and bars is a definite attraction. I found a complex right at 19th and Palm Ave (The Quarter at Ybor).

I was pumped about Ybor until I got wind of the crime, safety and danger concerns of the area. I like to have a good time and part of the benefit of living in such close proximity would be to walk home after a fun night. I probably wouldn't be in the clubs, but rather hitting bars like Gasper's Grotto and the like.

What I would like to know is would I feel safe walking home the 3 blocks by myself or with my lady friend after a fun night? Or would I be more apt to put myself in a cab for door-to-door service? I have tried to dig up general crime statistics, but nothing seems clear cut. Any help in providing some additional perspective on the area would be greatly appreciated!

PS> I have checked out the South Tampa area too and like that, but feel it would be hard to come by a place with a washer/dryer at a reasonable price and within walking distance of things to do.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-27-2011, 01:58 PM

286 posts, read 662,053 times