U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Florida > Tampa Bay
 [Register]
Tampa Bay Tampa - St. Petersburg - Clearwater
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-08-2019, 10:37 AM

5 posts, read 2,624 times

Advertisements

Hi All,

I have read through some of the other threads here on relocation, but have not seen any specific experience on anyone moving from the DFW area recently.

Background info:

Myself, wife (both 29) and two daughters ages 2 and 6. Schools will be a factor.

I work in Tech, specifically healthcare IT , my wife works an admin assistant type role and can find work anywhere.

I received a decent job offer in the Tampa area (Close to Airport, SunForest Dr.) that would be a slight monetary gain but not significant. (I would be at the same salary here by end of year). The main reason behind the move would be for the locale of Tampa as all of my family is in South Georgia where I was born and raised. We also spend as much time as we can on the water as it is, and the majority of our hobbies involve the water. This move would be a lifestyle change based on those factors.

We have looked at South Tampa/Westshore as there are several nice apartment complexes nearby, my only concern there are the schools. We have also heard good things about Westchase, Tampa palms etc.

Has anyone made this move from the DFW area (We are in Fort Worth currently) , and if so how do you like it in comparison? (Job opportunities/growth, schools, Lifestyle etc)

We are trying to really weigh the pros and cons on what we would be leaving here versus gaining etc.