U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Florida > Tampa Bay
 [Register]
Tampa Bay Tampa - St. Petersburg - Clearwater
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-24-2009, 03:51 PM

71 posts, read 204,503 times

Advertisements

Hi, if we were to move to FL how difficult would it be for me to secure a job as an RN? I have 16 years experience; school nursing, home health nursing, and cardiac.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-24-2009, 06:56 PM

1,137 posts, read 2,430,594 times
Just moved here from MI 9 months ago. There is a RN shortage here but the pay is lower. Best advice is to not accept a lowball pay offer value yourself and hold out for what you are worth. They need more nurses! The recruiters say that the cost of living is lower here. Not true. Home owners insurance, if you can get coverage, is high. Auto insurance is expensive also, no coverage for under insured, just uninssured... There are a lot of toles to pay and getting anywhere here is a lot of trafic and distance. One big hospital system Tampa General the Nurses I know who work there say the pay is terrible there but they like the teaching atmosphere.

Another factor is that because Florida is a vacation/resort place, many snowbirds leave in the dog days of summer, nurses get cancelled a lot then and end up using all of their PTO to suppliment their incomes. I think they should offer unemployment for these periods so they can retain their staff. Oh and this is a "right to work state", you may want to read up on that before committing . Right to Work States | National Right to Work Legal Defense Foundation