U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Florida > Tampa Bay
 [Register]
Tampa Bay Tampa - St. Petersburg - Clearwater
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-21-2010, 09:39 AM

2 posts, read 3,792 times

Advertisements

I've been visiting these areas several times a year for the past five years and would really like to make a move finally happen soon. I've been having the hardest time trying to understand how the school system works, especially in light of so many of the Pinellas County schools seeming to have such low ratings. I'm partial to the Seminole area (because of school ratings) but would love to live in the Gulfport area or even South Pasadena, maybe St. Pete Bch area... Does living in the immediate "zone" of a building guarantee admission of your children? Is it possible to gain admission to a particular school building if you aren't in the immediate "zoned" area?

Can anyone on the board help me get a better handle on how the school system works in Pinellas?

I was originally looking to buy, but after being quoted insane down payment and reserve requirements (despite separating from my husband, I'm told I have to do it as a second home loan even though I plan permanent primary residence?!), so with that in mind, I'm now looking for annual rentals that would accommodate 3 kids, a small dog and possibly a cat. Any suggestions on sites to regularly watch for listings?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-21-2010, 07:14 PM

4,469 posts, read 6,332,898 times