U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Teaching
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-21-2011, 07:37 PM

162 posts, read 231,447 times

Advertisements

I'm a recent college graduate (graduated about five months ago) who unfortunately hasn't had any luck in this job market. A couple of my friends have recently been hired as part-time tutors by a tutoring company, and it gave me an idea.

However, I want to be a self-employed tutor so I can have as much flexibility as I wish in terms of hours/days and be able to focus on my clients as they need.

I already know what I can specialize in (language - especially writing, and arithmetic). I plan on charging $15 an hour, which hopefully isn't too bad. I believe it undercuts tutoring centers.

I do need some advice on how should I go about starting to become a tutor. What are parents/students looking for? How should I advertise beyond the obvious Craigslist? Any unexpected issues with certain age groups? Are homes or public places usually preferred. I would love any advice.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-21-2011, 08:40 PM

7,345 posts, read 11,034,577 times
Check with the schools. I know my building has a list in the office. Depending on where you are I would think you could charge more than $15 an hour. That seems low to me.

Old 11-22-2011, 04:25 AM

5,054 posts, read 8,789,058 times