U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Teaching
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-31-2012, 11:22 AM

130 posts, read 317,650 times

Advertisements

I have been teaching for several years, and I am afraid that my district is now making me bitter towards the teaching profession. I am hoping to reach out to some educators and see if how I feel is at least valid.

The first thing that I notice is that we are treated just like the students. For example, we are allowed to wear spirit shirts and jeans on fridays. The students have to tuck their shirts in, but we do not. Well today my supervisor said we had to tuck our shirt in to as "an example for the students" I'm sorry, but i didn't do 5-6 yrs of school just to be treated like a 15 yr old.

The other thing, while I am not racist at all, the administration, school board and the people in the upper positions are all african american. There are very few people from other races that are in positions of power. Being a minority myself, I feel like my chance for advancement is very low.