U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Teaching
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 09-06-2013, 11:05 AM

167 posts, read 121,393 times

Advertisements

Hey teachers!

I'm a current teacher-candidate enrolled in a graduate ED program (Master's in Teaching to be specific) and as you can imagine our profession is seemingly glorified in these classes. I come from a diverse district and I know, as well as from what I read here, that everything is not always controlled by teachers. What I mean is, my ED classes preach that there are a lot of choices we can make (skills we learn(ed) in our teacher preparation) in the classroom that influence our students' success. What I'm asking you guys here is: in what circumstances in your classroom do you feel mitigated by administration? Choices you'd like to make that you feel would work, but are not supported/prevented from doing by your administration? Obviously a huge example of this would be with standardized testing. A lot of teachers have plenty of material they'd like to include in their lessons; however, it is not necessary for the all mighty standardized tests. What say you?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-06-2013, 05:01 PM

86,101 posts, read 67,354,306 times
You barely have enough time to cover what's on the tests never mind extra material.
Save that for after the testing because if the scores drop they are going to look at you first.

Old 09-07-2013, 07:11 AM

1,741 posts, read 2,673,883 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by STB1220 View Post
Hey teachers!