Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Teaching
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-26-2015, 11:14 AM

67 posts, read 96,654 times

Advertisements

I teach a number of one or two session adult education classes for a local school district. These are fun evening classes in art, travel music and communication skills. My students seem to like me and the classes I teach and it is a fun way to earn some extra money. I am not a professional teacher, trainer, or educator, but I do OK.

At the end of the class I am required to hand out a survey where the students evaluate my teaching skills and the class content. Usually they like me but I do have critics! One of the main complaints about me is I don't remember their names. Yes, I do ask for everyone's name at the start of the class but with 15-20 students in a one or two session class it seems like an impossible task to remember everyone's name, so I find it an interesting criticism.

No, I am not going to put a name tag on everyone because their name is not that important in a short one or two session class, in my opinion.

What do you think? Should I remember everyone's name by the end of a one session class if they introduced themselves at the start of the class? (In a 15-20 student class) Would you be insulted if I did not remember your name in a one or two session class?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-26-2015, 11:38 AM

6,450 posts, read 9,812,682 times
Welcome back again!!!

Old 03-26-2015, 12:44 PM

3,070 posts, read 5,232,094 times