Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Teaching
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-06-2015, 03:21 PM

12 posts, read 16,476 times

Advertisements

Okay so I am in my second year of community college, I want to go to a University and get a bachelors degree and then become a teacher, mainly a history teacher in high school. My problem is that i do not want an associates degree in liberal arts which is the degree my counselors suggested to be able to transfer and work to become a teacher.

I need help in deciding on a major for my associates degree that will help me become a teacher BUT one that has a better chance of getting me a job. after community college, an associates degree in liberal arts has terrible qualifications for jobs.

As opposed to an associates in computer science, accounting, business management, you get the point.

I guess what I'm trying to say is, I want to become a history teacher, but I do not want to major in liberal arts if I can avoid it. I want to get an associates degree that is useful in getting me a job after Community college. I also don't want to major in the majors listed above. Maybe Computer science but it requires a ton of math other wise id like it.

(Suggesting to talk to a counselor wont work since they have no clue )

Thanks guys.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-06-2015, 04:51 PM

4,383 posts, read 4,234,636 times