Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Teaching
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 08-27-2015, 11:08 PM

4,366 posts, read 4,577,103 times

Advertisements

...and I obviously need those skills if I want to become anyone who resembles a decent teacher. The classroom where I'm working is sort of like a special education classroom; I've never done special education before, so it's been a bit of a learning curb. For one thing, they all do individual lessons, so whole group instruction is a rare occurrence. A computer program gives them most of their grades, but I'm still responsible for about thirty percent of their grade.

The current special education teacher recommended I subscribe to a teaching site, like Edhelper, and print materials from there that sample certain basic skills, like counting, multiplication and division, sentence and paragraph formation, etc, and put them in a packet that I give to students in the morning to work on throughout the day. I'm happy she suggested this, as it will cut my lesson planning time by several hours (before she suggested this, I was getting up at 2:00 to prepare lessons and frequently staying up all night. I have a second job, so that of course wasn't doing me any favors.)