Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Teaching
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 12-13-2016, 07:35 PM

525 posts, read 406,475 times

Advertisements

Hey you all, I am so determined as well as indecisive about going to school for 2 years to receive a degree in Elementary Ed. I already have an undergrad degree in Sociology and Anthropology. I graduated last year and quickly found out that education should have been what I went to undergrad for in the beginning, but I wouldn't listen to my parents whom are both educators and now I am back at square 1. I was attending Walden University M.Ed program however half way through the semester I discovered that the program does not lead to license or certs. I searched for every alternatives that would lead me to certification and the best route is attending the local university and take classes to earn a BS in Elementary ED. I want a program that is going to offer me the education that I need for teaching. The 2 year route leads to a professional certification, reading endorsement, and a practicum which consist of working under a teacher during the first block. The down side is I may or may not have enough loans to either complete the program or seek a higher degree.
I started Walden in August and will be done with the semester this week. I believe that the short amount of time I stayed there will still leave me enough loan money for the program.