Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Teaching
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-01-2010, 09:53 AM

4 posts, read 18,380 times

Advertisements

I have a bachelor's degree in secondary education and linguistics & a Master's in ESOL. I have another unfinished bachelor's degree in Economics (3 years out of 4). I am in the process of getting my first teaching license (ESOL) in TN. I understand that the job market is tough. I do not have any official teaching experience except for student teaching for 6 months. I would like to get additional endorsements.
How do you go about getting them? I am interested in Middle Grades Math & maybe SPED. I only have 12 credit hours of Math from my education in economics. I am getting ready to take PRAXIS Middle School Math & PRAXIS Principles of Learning and Teaching 5-9. I have already passed ESOL K-12.

Do you just take PRAXIS exams for those areas or do you have to go get additional degrees? How does it work in your state?

I am particularly interested in Tennessee, Virginia & Maryland. I live close to Tennessee but I am in love with Washington D.C.

Thank you so much!!!

Last edited by Caramelka; 01-01-2010 at 10:33 AM.. Reason: added more info
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-01-2010, 10:06 AM

21,088 posts, read 29,216,093 times
I believe you need X amount of hours in a content area. Some states may require student teaching for each content area as well.