U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Tennessee
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 11-20-2012, 12:16 PM

1 posts, read 1,289 times

Advertisements

I've been pondering the idea to move to Tennessee since 2008 and even before this growing up being that I went to Parsons, TN (Decatur County) every summer for family vacations and loved it, but never pulled the trigger due to school and family obligations. Now my fiance and I are really wanting something new in our lives. We got a taste of the southern living while living in southern Illinois (while working at the Tamms Correctional Center which is literally the bottom tip of IL and it seems more like KY and TN than IL). I have a good job with the state, but due to Illinois being corrupt and the past 3 years working for them always hearing how we have to pay more for health insurance and threatens of pay cuts is getting old and it seems like it actually may become a reality now. My question really is I dont even know where to start to look for a job there. I really dont know where I'd like to move to. Were both young myself 24 and my fiance is 23 (not that it probably matters). I live in a town of 3,000 people now and I'm pretty used to this and enjoy the little rural communities as opposed to huge cities. I have a little girl and another on the way so schools and safe neighborhoods would be a must. As far as work goes I'd consider corrections again if the pay was there but in TN it seems as if they pay corrections nothing. I'd have to jump into something that pays minimum $35,000 a year or greater. I do have a CDL, but have never utilized it since I have g