Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-09-2007, 11:06 PM

187 posts, read 844,319 times

Advertisements

I'm new to the state of Texas. I have questions regarding common law or community property. I know that this is REALLY a question for an attorney, but I was wondering if anyone can tell me anything about common law or community property laws in Texas....

My partner/boyfriend and I have lived together for eight years in another state. I owned (outright, by myself) the house we lived in and our state laws were such that we were always filing taxes as single people. My income, my ("our") house, my taxes... His income, his taxes.

In Texas we can be "married" or not, according to what I understand, by simply holding ourselves out as married, publicly. This would allow me to get him spousal benefits through work...breaks on auto insurance, etc. No need to go to a judge or have a ceremony. We can just consider ourselves married....

My question is: if I want to buy a house in Texas (we currently rent), can I buy one myself, or are spouses unable to buy property THEMSELVES--such as a house--in a community property state such as Texas?

I ask because my credit is good but boyfriend/partner/common-law (or "informal") spouse has poor credit.... Maybe we should just stay "single" but committed-for-life.... But again, perhaps we're married in Texas even if we don't want to be....

Lawyers? Texans? Anyone?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-10-2007, 12:11 AM

9 posts, read 58,669 times