U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Happy Halloween!
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-13-2008, 03:19 PM

16 posts, read 22,742 times
Default Contemplating Moving From DC to Dallas/Houston

Hello y'all!
I'm 27, married with a kid on the way, thinking of moving to Dallas-Fort Worth or Houston because it seems like a pretty good place for a family with low rents/housing prices. I work as a financial analyst for a large management consulting firm in the Northern Virginia area where home prices and rents are pretty high! I make about $75k and pay about $1400 for a 2 bed apt - my wife is not currently working. Whatever time I have spent in the U.S., including college (George Washington Univ.) has been in the Washington DC area and we love it here - other than housing costs and having to pay car tax every year (VA)!
DC is gorgeous and very diverse with lots to do including the smithsonian museums, good/trendy restaurants and I guess it doesn't hurt to live in one of the richest counties (Fairfax) in the country. What we do not like are cold winters, blustery winds and ice storms!
From a job perspective I have an interest in the financial services industry as well as the energy industry which begs the question, which of these cities, if any, might be best for us? I know Houston is the energy capital of the US but what about the financial services industry? Can either of these cities be called a 'financial services hub'?