U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 01-13-2010, 09:06 PM

2 posts, read 7,098 times

Advertisements

Hi. I'm currently a student at a university in Texas. I just started last semester. I'm trying to settle in Texas with getting a car and driver's license for a while now. I am very confuse about my situation.

I lived in Ohio before coming to Texas. During the winter break I came back to Ohio and took the driving test to get my license here. Since I have a permanent address here, and my parent helped me with the test, there wasn't a problem getting the license. Now I am not sure if I need to change my license to Texas one or not. Since I've been in Texas for a semester, it's already passed 30 days limit.

my question is
- Am I required to change to Texas license? I read from somewhere that you don't have to if you are a full time student who came from another state.
- If I am required to change to Texas license, would it be a problem that it's over 30 days limit since I started school already? I read some posts from here, seems like many people did that without a problem. Will they check how long you've been here?

And last one, I also bought a car in Texas with Texas plate and registration (which I am a co-owner with my parent) a while ago. I thought I would need the car to take the driving test there at the time, but that didn't work out well. (I know that was kinda stupid If I'd known all the steps I would have waited until I get my license to buy a car). Will this be a problem if I keep my Ohio license??

Thank you so much everyone for helping.