U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > World Forums > Canada > Toronto
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 05-07-2010, 02:39 PM

6 posts, read 12,598 times
Default Find job or apartment before moving?

Moving from Ottawa to Toronto, probably a dumb question but should I find a job in Toronto before I get there or a place to live first? I was thinking of staying at a hotel while I did my search for the 2 when I got there but I'm just a student and it seems really expensive.
Quick reply to this message

Old 05-07-2010, 03:34 PM

155 posts, read 265,614 times
Your best bet is to look on craigslist for a room/shared. You can rent a room in someones house or apartment for around 200.00 - 500.00 a month. This will give you time to look for a job. Get some job security and save a bit, then you can start looking for your own apartment.

It would be very difficult to get approval for an apartment without an income.

Old 05-07-2010, 04:24 PM

6 posts, read 12,598 times
Oh should have reworded, I'll be looking for a room to rent as I have no furniture or anything, pretty much have some clothes to bring with me and a furnished room would be perfect. So do most rented rooms not mind if the person has a job in Toronto yet if just moving in but can pay the monthly fees etc on time? or will they need me to show that I found a job before moving in?

Old 05-07-2010, 05:46 PM