U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Travel
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-09-2014, 08:00 PM

2 posts, read 63,206 times

Advertisements

Hi,

I am a college student who will be interning in Santa Rosa from May-August. I've gotten two other internships in different places since I've been in college, and I love getting the chance to see what other states are like. I currently live in Texas, so me and my mom will begin driving to California on May 22 to bring all my things, then she will fly back to Texas on May 26. We want to try to make it a 2-3day road trip and we want to stop and see some cool things along the way. SIDE NOTE: We have never gone anywhere west of Texas. (Sad, I know).

We definitely want to stop in El Paso or in the Grand Canyon, but we don't know of any other attractions we should stop and see!

So I have a bunch of questions: Have any of you made this road trip before and planned out cool stops along the way? What are some things we should do to make this a cool road trip? What exactly should we do once we get to the grand canyon? Also, what should I explore in the Bay Area of California before I leave in August?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-09-2014, 08:46 PM

14,253 posts, read 23,969,886 times
What part of Texas?

Also 2-3 days does NOT give you enough time to do much sightseeing. For example, driving El Paso to Austin is a full day ride.

Old 04-10-2014, 05:12 AM

4,239 posts, read 8,074,474 times
^^^ +1...