U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Travel
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-18-2014, 02:58 PM

9,565 posts, read 9,437,752 times

Advertisements

Although intercity bus travel still exists, it ain't what it used to be. The only times I took a bus was when my car was being repaired when I was a grad student in the mid 1990s. I took the Greyhound from Hattiesburg, Mississippi's bus terminal (a converted drive-in bank at an abandoned shopping center) to Jackson, changed to Delta Bus Lines, and stepped off the bus at Roy's Garage, a closed auto-repair shop that served as Ruleville, Mississippi's "bus depot". One scene I remember was a woman affiliated with an Anabaptist sect (she dressed sort of Amish-like) bringing a package to deliver by "express" at the bus stop in Mount Olive (a former drive-in).
Back in the 1970s, when my older half-brothers and half-sister had to go back to their father's house in Alabama, we would take them to the long-gone Continental Trailways Bus Station in downtown Jackson. I remember it had a cafe with miniature juke boxes on each booth and pay toilets.

Do you remember when bus travel was a big thing, and bus terminals were busy places with cafes and even places for the drivers to sleep?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-18-2014, 03:42 PM

3,431 posts, read 3,058,503 times