U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Travel
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 08-28-2014, 01:49 PM
 
60 posts, read 54,935 times
Reputation: 39

Advertisements

If you're confused, it's like flying into JFK for a connecting flight out of Newark. I've done it happen in London (had a flight into Heathrow, but the outgoing flight was out of Luton) and Tokyo (flight into Haneda, outgoing flight out of Narita). Both experiences were quite hectic, to say the least, and I'm glad it hasn't happened since.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 08-28-2014, 07:21 PM
 
12,299 posts, read 15,199,676 times
Reputation: 8108
No, but I've seen it done. I was on the CTA Orange line from Midway and some fellow riders were riding downtown to transfer to the Blue line to O'Hare. Requires lots of spare time between flights.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-28-2014, 07:33 PM
 
Location: MMU->ABE->ATL->ASH
9,127 posts, read 17,145,055 times
Reputation: 9980
Different airports in "Same" city, No, would never book that kind of connection.

Have done Layovers like that. But had 24-48 hours between flights.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-28-2014, 07:33 PM
 
Location: Gatineau, QC, Canada
3,402 posts, read 4,447,708 times
Reputation: 4409
Can this happen on a single ticket journey? Or would you deliberately have to purchase the second leg as a separate transaction? Seems like a huge liability if you're the airline planning this, or working in codeshare.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-28-2014, 07:39 PM
 
Location: NYC, CHI, UK
466 posts, read 430,761 times
Reputation: 744
I've connected between Heathrow and Gatwick. I made sure I had plenty of time though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesse44 View Post
Can this happen on a single ticket journey? Or would you deliberately have to purchase the second leg as a separate transaction? Seems like a huge liability if you're the airline planning this, or working in codeshare.
In my case I purchased the second leg as a separate transaction.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-28-2014, 07:56 PM
 
Location: MMU->ABE->ATL->ASH
9,127 posts, read 17,145,055 times
Reputation: 9980
I've seen Some Booking websites do a cross city connection.

Few times years ago some airline website would do it, but they would do 6+hour connections, May still do it such as LGA to JFK, but I'm sure they are few and far between.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-28-2014, 08:40 PM
 
Location: Woodstock, GA
2,069 posts, read 3,504,130 times
Reputation: 2558
Yes I've done that. Not intentionally tho. We were flying ORD -> IAD -> CDG. When we got to O'Hare we found out our first leg had been cancelled. This was before the days of smartphones and cellphones were still pretty rare. So we had no forewarning of this cancellation. I really pressured the agent at the check-in counter to find us an alternate. She suggested staying overnight in DC and flying to Paris the next day. That was simply not acceptable. So I asked if they had a flight in to DCA leaving soon and they did. We flew in to DCA where an agent met us at the gate and gave us a voucher for a cab. Then we took a cab out to IAD. We made it in time. But what a stressful way to start a vacation.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-28-2014, 09:19 PM
 
Location: Limbo
6,475 posts, read 6,186,999 times
Reputation: 6239
In to LGA and out of JFK; a pain in the behind.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-28-2014, 10:44 PM
 
3,274 posts, read 3,695,935 times
Reputation: 5438
I would not be able to do that most of the time because of visa issues.

You may think it's a PITA to dash from Heathrow to Gatwick. It would be nice for me to be able to do that but I'd need to apply for a UK visa first and that kinda sucks the fun out of it. Transiting through the same airport generally does not necessitate obtaining a visa (except in the case of the U.S, which is why the US is entirely off my travel list).
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-28-2014, 10:45 PM
 
Location: Airports all over the world
6,157 posts, read 6,325,516 times
Reputation: 100660
There have been a few times where I flew into one airport on a company plane and then had to hightail it to another airport to get back home. As far as booking a commercial flight that required getting from one airport to another, I have never had to do that.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Travel
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6.

2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top