U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Travel
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-19-2016, 09:07 PM

77 posts, read 55,120 times

Advertisements

I am planning on moving cross country soon-ish (from Michigan to Vancouver, BC), and have decided to use the moving process as an excuse to cross off an item on my bucket list and take a road trip across the US. (I am a semi-professional photographer, so a lot of the stops are based around adding to a portfolio of nature shots). Here is a current list of my route (I hope links work):

https://roadtrippers.com/map?a2=t%21...ource=copy&z=5

If not, here's a general description:

Starts in Michigan,
Travel through Chicago,
Down along rt66 to St. Louis,
Across Kansas to Colorado Springs (for Pikes Peak drive and Valley of the Gods)
Pass though Denver (pass though the Rockies and hike up/climb a "real" mountain)
Continue to Moab and Arches National Park (mountain bike in canyons while there)
Go south through Monument Valley (solely for the iconic photo shot)
Head west past Antelope Canyon and Lake Powell
Drive through Zion National Park
Stop in Las Vegas to gamble (not for any other reason than to say I did)
Through Death Valley
Explore Yosemite National Park (full day stop)
Enjoy San Francisco
Up through Wine country (pick a random vineyard, but am open to actual suggestions)
Go to Crater Lake National Park
Pass through Bend, OR
Drive past Mt. Hood
Re-visit my favorite city of Portland, OR
Pass through Seattle (visit friends that live there)
And finally arrive in Vancouver, BC