U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Travel
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-28-2016, 09:41 PM

1 posts, read 748 times

Advertisements

Hi everyone!
I am a 20 year old student looking for advice on a Asian trip itinerary and some other things. I will be studying abroad in Seoul until late June and I want to travel for about 2-4 weeks afterwords. here are some questions I have:
1. I am a bit undecided which path to take. The start of my trip will obviously be in Seoul, and I intend to end in Tokyo, although I am open to change. My early drafts of my trip include flying to Beijing and then going to Shanghai, then possibly to Hong Kong, and, then going to Hanoi before flying to Japan. In Japan I would like to see Osaka and Tokyo at least. Other places I've considered visiting are Kyoto, Hiroshima, Bangkok and Taipei. Are there any other places you guys recommend? What would be the best route to take among these locations? My goal is to make this trip as relatively cheap as possible, so keep that in mind. Which leads me to the next question:

2. What would the ideal budget look like for 2 weeks (obviously fewer locations)? 4 weeks? I plan on traveling cheaply, staying in hostels or using Airbnb (I have a friend to stay with in Hanoi), and taking buses between several of the locations if possible.

3. How much time should I spent in the locations I provided? (Beijing, Shanghai, Hong Kong, Hanoi, Osaka, Tokyo)

A bit about me:
-I have never been outside of North America
-I speak a minute bit of Korean, but nothing else