Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > True Crime
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-09-2012, 04:33 PM

16,391 posts, read 30,926,132 times

Advertisements

I have recently been charged with a driving on a suspended license in Illinois as stated in my other thread.

I am a resident of Michigan.

I lived in Florida almost 3 years ago and had unpaid tickets I didn't know about.

I was pulled over in Illinois and brought in to jail. I was charged with driving on a suspended license.

I have since cleared up my problems in Florida. Everything is paid off.

I looked on the website and for Illinois the crime is punishable up to 2,500 dollars and 360 days in jail. I am freaking out right now, this seems unreasonable. I don't even see how a punishment like this could be allowed in United States. I am definitely going to need an attorney, but I don't know what to do because I don't have the money for one. Are court appointed attorneys trustworthy or will they work against me and try to get me to pay as much as possible to the state?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-09-2012, 09:49 PM

13,933 posts, read 12,893,585 times
Firstly, why would you think a court appointed atty. would be untrustworthy? They aren't secretly agents of the state or anything, they are professionals who know the laws far better than the average citizen and are only there to advise you and make certain that the proceedings are conducted fairly to you in accordance with the law.

Last edited by WhipperSnapper 88; 04-09-2012 at 09:59 PM..

Old 04-10-2012, 09:32 AM