Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Arizona > Tucson
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-02-2009, 12:06 AM

12 posts, read 56,342 times

Advertisements

Hi,

I am new to tucson and new to USA. I was told that having meal in the restaurant and giving tips when paying bills is a must in Tucson. I wonder who truth it is? I always thought that 'tips' is based on voluntary. Pls enlighten me.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-02-2009, 01:16 AM

28 posts, read 71,081 times
I don't eat out much but I hear that it is customary to tip 15% of your total bill amount. If you don't tip its nothing is going to happen to you, but most waiting staffs depend on them to survive, I think they get paid something like 3 dollars an hour.

Old 01-02-2009, 05:35 AM

303 posts, read 1,557,783 times
It is customary to tip 15%, but sometimes I tip 20% if the server is really attentitive. I've heard of people tipping less than 15%, but that's because the service was just horrible.

Old 01-02-2009, 10:06 AM

9,593 posts, read 31,543,889 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by oceanb70 View Post
Hi,

I am new to tucson and new to USA. I was told that having meal in the restaurant and giving tips when paying bills is a must in Tucson. I wonder who truth it is? I always thought that 'tips' is based on voluntary. Pls enlighten me.
I believe your information is slightly misleading, Ocean.

The 15% to 20% voluntary tipping policy is fairly standardized in the United States and applies everywhere, fairly consistently, NOT just in Tucson and/or Arizona.