Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > U.S. Territories
 [Register]
U.S. Territories Puerto Rico, Guam, U.S. Virgin Islands, etc.
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 11-09-2009, 04:50 PM

6 posts, read 16,671 times

Advertisements

Hi,
My partner is a Physician Assistant, and is a considering a job offer on St. Thomas. We would be living there for about two years at least. I'm a social worker/mental health counselor and would also need to find work, clearly, and I'm having a little trouble finding job listings for social workers and/or people in the field that I can talk to about doing this kind of work in the USVI. I was wondering if anyone in this forum knows anyone who practices social work there and what their experience has been like. Also, I live and work in a predominantly Caribbean (from all different countries) neighborhood in Brooklyn, and I have seen a crazy amount of really intense homophobia, and I'm wondering if people have any sense of what it is like to be in a same-sex partnership and live in St. Thomas. In general, is it hostile and dangerous? Or is it pretty mellow live-and-let-live?
We're actually going to visit next week and see for ourselves, but I thought I would seek out some feedback on this forum as well because one can't have too much information.
Also, just if anyone's interested or has an opinion, the other places that we are considering for two-year positions are Northern New Mexico and Guam.
Thanks in advance for your feedback and have a good evening.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-09-2009, 05:13 PM

4,696 posts, read 7,890,053 times