U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment > Unemployment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-30-2010, 11:59 PM

14 posts, read 84,431 times

Advertisements

Hi everyone. The store I worked at closed down in August suddenly and I was approved for Unemployment benefits for 26 weeks. This is my first time drawing and I am having a hard time understanding it. My benefits run out in Feb. 2011.

I've read a little bit online about extensions being given. Something called Tiers or such. Can someone please explain what this means? When my 26 weeks are up in Feb. will I be eligible for anything if I still have not found a job? I currently make $191.00 a week and it is enough to keep me floating since my wife went back to work to make up the difference.

Can someone please let me know what the deal is? I am a lost soul on all this and am beginning to be worried since the job search is still in the dumps. Please help. Thank you.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 12-01-2010, 08:00 AM

3,814 posts, read 8,001,475 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdlee View Post
Hi everyone. The store I worked at closed down in August suddenly and I was approved for Unemployment benefits for 26 weeks. This is my first time drawing and I am having a hard time understanding it. My benefits run out in Feb. 2011.