U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment > Unemployment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 04-25-2012, 01:40 PM

1 posts, read 1,946 times

Advertisements

Hello. My unemployment nightmare started almost 3 years ago. I lost my job and due to my employer misclassifying me as an independent contractor, I was denied. I was in fact an employee and met all but 1 of the criteria to prove so. I sent in documents, including emails, company memos, everything that proved that I was an employee. After 2 years of battling with the UIA over the issue, I was finally granted a hearing in front of an ALJ. This is mainly because I filed an ss-8 status with the IRS and they investigated and determined that I WAS an employee, which prompted the UIA to actually listen. While I realize that these claims can be difficult and time consuming, my main issue is the worker that was assigned my case. This person, on 3 different occasions, lost my file completely. Then they claimed not to have documents that were faxed to them over and over again. They claimed I was late on sending in information on several occasions, when my lawyer and I had proof that it was sent on time. Each of these issues with the worker took MONTHS to reverse and get straight. This worker was supposed to investigate my case, and even though all of the evidence was in my favor, she continued to deny my claim. This evidence included the paperwork that my former employer had to fill out, where they AGREED that they had exercised control over me, and agreed to all the other poi