U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment > Unemployment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 06-07-2012, 10:16 PM

24 posts, read 123,377 times

Advertisements

I was fired from my job right after i graduated college (wasn't my career, just a college job) and started collecting unemployment. Now my question is about how the part time unemployment works. I was accepted for a job in my career field, it's entry level but it's the only way to get a job in this career right now with the economy. ( its sort of like a paying internship which results in the employer sending you through full training and then a position with them or someone else)

Right now im reporting it as a part-time job to unemployment because on my last claim i only worked around 15 hours at around minimum wage. My job is gonna start giving more hours, around 40. These hours can vary greatly depending on if it rains because if it does then we don't work. Even if i get a full 40 hours per week this still puts me under my weekly benefit rate. Will i still be able to collect part time unemployment if i work 40 hours but make less than my benefit rate?

If all goes well for me i will be given a full time paying position by next may, or accepted by another Employer for immediate higher level work. So i'm just hoping i can continue to collect part time unemployment until next may when i get a better pay increase.
Quick reply to this message

Old 06-07-2012, 11:16 PM

14,420 posts, read 19,330,425 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suh90 View Post