Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment > Unemployment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 06-02-2013, 04:37 PM

2 posts, read 2,201 times

Advertisements

I am a teacher at a charter school. The problem is that most schools offer year-round pay, whether its allocated only over the school year or throughout the summer too.

At my job, I'm paid hourly. If I miss school, I don't get paid. From
June through August I do not get paid. I am not necessarily on a contract nor guaranteed a job in the fall (although I have quite a good feeling I WILL be rehired). I do have a w2 and year round benefits.

My question is, under state law, would I qualify for unemployment so that I can get a percentage of my paycheck and still be able to focus my time perfecting my craft? I've signed up for summer courses to help better my teaching, and I'm very interested in mastering my craft. I do not want to bartend over the summer to get by.

Thank you for your time.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-02-2013, 04:55 PM

14,500 posts, read 31,058,740 times
Teacher stuff is complicated because the general rule is if you have a reasonable expectation of being employed during the next academic year, then no UI for you.

Based on the "good feeling I will be rehired," I'd say no. However, you can always apply, and if turned down, then so what?