U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment > Unemployment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 

Old 09-02-2009, 04:46 PM

42 posts, read 432,744 times

Advertisements

Hello everyone. I was just wondering if anyone has any advise on this. I live in South Carolina and recently filed for unemployment. I received the letter stating I was disqualified because I am not available for work during my "normal hours." (I used to work at insurance company from 9-6). I am a full time student which is why they say I am not available to work. However, the only day of the week I am not available to work is Thursday because I am there until the afternoon. Tuesday I'm there until noon. The rest of the week I am only there until 8:50 am. I have applied for all kinds of jobs, even waitressing which I did years ago, and those are night shifts so they do not interfere with school whatsoever. I'm just wondering if this seems like an appeal I would have a shot at winning, because if not it would seem pointless. I am definatly available for work, just not my old schedule. Does anyone have any advise on filing an appeal (and winning) in SC? Or a similar situation? Thanks guys!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-02-2009, 05:08 PM

23,990 posts, read 32,322,325 times
Unless you obtained the student waiver, you can't claim. You aren't available your normal work hours, which were days.

Old 02-14-2011, 04:54 PM

2 posts, read 6,562 times